Seeking job niche for fluent Chinese speaking caucasion in USA

Post here for topics related to life outside of Taiwan, whether it's jobs in China, restaurants in Shanghai, or re-adjusting to life back home.
Forum rules
Post here for topics related to life outside of Taiwan, whether it's jobs in China, restaurants in Shanghai, or re-adjusting to life back home.
Keyword searches: Shanghai

Postby grandcanyonhiker » 16 Jun 2012, 23:55

I am wondering if anybody out there could help me with a career dilemma.

I lived in taiwan for 5 years total. For two years i studied chinese and for 3 years i worked part time as a international sales assistant for a small taiwanese company. There i did translation/interpretting, sale and office related tasks. Participated in 4 international trade fairs. My spoken chinese would be considered fluent but far from native speaker abilities. And I am married to a taiwanese and have been in and out of Taiwan for the last 12 years. So I have a deeper cultural connection.

Now I am trying to re-establish myself in the USA and I am not able to see any niche or advantage that can get me a job. And I only have a social sciences BA. For any language related tasks, hiring a native Mandarin speaker or ABC is much more desirable. Is there any special niche in the USA job market that could utilize my experience in Taiwan? Or do you know of anybody facing a similar difficulty?

Part of the problem is location. I am currently living in a smaller midwest city. A good friend of mine lives in Seattle. Would it help if i relocated?
grandcanyonhiker
Ink Still Wet in Passport (shífēn xīnshǒu)

ORIGINAL POSTER

Re: Seeking job niche for fluent Chinese speaking caucasion in USA

Postby ironlady » 17 Jun 2012, 01:38