Sanctuary being torn down. We need your help!!! - click here for details
You can also visit TheSanctuaryTaiwan.org - click here to go to their contact page

Whitie possibly looking to move to Taiwan

Moderator: Tempo Gain

Whitie possibly looking to move to Taiwan

Postby AnywhereButHere » 10 Apr 2012, 21:52

Hi, newb white American here. I'm wondering what my chances are of landing a teaching gig in the Taoyuan area. I have no prior teaching experience and don't speak Mandarin. If it's not even possible, what other kind of jobs should I look for/expect to be able to get? Pay rates? Any information is appreciated. I have searched around but seems like most info on this that people have linked to is from 2008.
AnywhereButHere
Ink Still Wet in Passport (shífēn xīnshǒu)

ORIGINAL POSTER

Re: Whitie possibly looking to move to Taiwan

Postby jdsmith » 10 Apr 2012, 21:55

AnywhereButHere wrote:Hi, newb white American here. I'm wondering what my chances are of landing a teaching gig in the Taoyuan area. I have no prior teaching experience and don't speak Mandarin. If it's not even possible, what other kind of jobs should I look for/expect to be able to get? Pay rates? Any information is appreciated. I have searched around but seems like most info on this that people have linked to is from 2008.

Dear Butthere,

You'll do fine, even better in Taoyuan if you speak Canadian. :thumbsup:
Your warning level: [1]
Forumosan avatar
jdsmith
Maitreya Buddha (Mílèfó)

56 Recognized(s)

Postby Indiana » 10 Apr 2012, 22:27

ABH, a good idea would be to get onto Dave's ESL Cafe and browse the Taiwan forum (as well as the forums for any other countries you may be interested in). It is a great resource for people looking to start teaching overseas.

Good luck!!! :)
Forumosan avatar
Indiana
Mandarin Marvel (Guóyǔ gāoshǒu)

5 Recommends(s)
39 Recognized(s)

Postby tomthorne » 10 Apr 2012, 23:39

jdsmith wrote:Dear Butthere,