Teaching with Shane School of English in Zhanghua

Moderator: Tempo Gain

Teaching with Shane School of English in Zhanghua

Postby The LawBA » 17 Apr 2012, 03:24

Hello everyone.

I've taken a position with Shane School of English in Taiwan, and will arrive in Taipei for training in three weeks. It's my first time in Taiwan, and will also be my first time teaching English, though I have a BA in English and a TEFL certificate. I'll be teaching at three schools in Zhanghua City, Yuanlin and Homei. I know this is a bit much to ask, but does anyone on the forums have experience with Shane in Zhanghua, or happen to be teaching with them currently? If so, what are your experiences with Shane and Zhanghua generally? I know that's probably very general, but any and all advice and feedback would be gratefully appreciated.

I've done a lot of research on Taiwan, but I'm still uncomfortably aware I don't know as much as I'd like. I really want to make a good impression in this, my first TEFL job, and would appreciate anything people have to say, as it would be a great help. Thank you.
The LawBA
Ink Still Wet in Passport (shífēn xīnshǒu)

ORIGINAL POSTER

Re: Teaching with Shane School of English in Zhanghua

Postby cfimages » 17 Apr 2012, 07:08

The LawBA wrote:I'll be teaching at three schools in Zhanghua City, Yuanlin and Homei.

Make sure they provide a separate work permit for each school. They'll likely apply for one permit only and send you to three schools - be aware that that is illegal and puts you at risk of deportation if caught teaching at a school that you don't have a work permit for.
Forumosan avatar
cfimages
Golden Lotus (huángjīn liánhuā)
Golden Lotus (huángjīn liánhuā)

217 Recommends(s)
213 Recognized(s)

Postby bigduke6 » 17 Apr 2012, 08:03

Although I rarely agree with CFI, he is 110% correct here. :oops:

You need a work permit with the details of each branch you work for.