Tetjobs.com Recruiter

Moderator: Tempo Gain

Tetjobs.com Recruiter

Postby green_lyph » 23 May 2012, 12:22

Hey,

I've searched around for reviews of this recruiter. I'm wondering what folks think of the website. They charge 300 USD for services which include finding another job if the school does not hold up its end of the contract, also they speak chinese which would help with contract details. http://www.taiwanenglishteachingjobs.com/

I'm curious what you people think. Please, do not be too hard on me, I've done my research but I'm also a newb to TESL, TESOL, TEFL. :ponder:

: :s I've had inteviews with KNS, in taiwan and a school on Jeju islands in Korea, and been in contact with various programs including the EPIK program.

Taiwan is my main interest though and it seems right now to find work its possible that schools are only hiring because people are quiting, which seems like a bad sign to me. Should I wait til september? I'm not interested in flying to Taiwan to look for work. I know everyone recommends doing that but its not within my comfort zone.

So, I'm stuck with various offers being thrown my way (a Rd position, kindergarden in Hsinchu, or a part time in Kaohsiung) - I'm looking for a town like Tainan, with some western folks, full time, elementary. I don't want to work 'illegal', even if its socially acceptable or whatnot.

merci,
John
green_lyph
Ink Still Wet in Passport (shífēn xīnshǒu)

ORIGINAL POSTER

Re: Tetjobs.com Recruiter

Postby bigduke6 » 23 May 2012, 12:37

As far as my experience goes, both teaching and working in other fields, an applicant should not pay the recruiting agency 1 cent.

The employer should be the one to pay, as they are looking for staff.

Employer calls agency and tells them the requirments, agency finds a candidate, if candidate is acceptable agency gets paid.

Any agency requiring the applicant to pay a fee, raises a BIG red flag IMHO. :thumbsdown: