Sanctuary being torn down. We need your help!!! - click here for details
You can also visit TheSanctuaryTaiwan.org - click here to go to their contact page

HESS as a newb + 101 questions

Moderator: Tempo Gain

HESS as a newb + 101 questions

Postby danehidden » 23 Nov 2008, 01:11

I have searched the boards over a few times looking for this info so please forgive me if this is a thorough repost of someone else's post but this is the info I have found an the remaining questions that I have.

I am about two and a half months from boarding a plane headed for Taipei. I have been researching this for about three months now and from what I can see HESS offers the best deal for an absolute newb. According to what I have read they will provide round trip air fare, an ARC, TEFL Cert, a week of training, and assistance getting situated. From what I have read in recent informative/job posts they start pay at 600-750 NT/hr and you can work from twenty to thirty hours a week. I have little trouble with math and according to my math if I worked twenty five hours a week at 600/hr I would earn 60k/mo. Less taxes for the first 6 mos. I would earn 48000/mo. I am not sure how much that really is. From what I have seen I can get a room for 5,500 to 10,000 mo. I could eat decently for about 5,000 mo. I am not really much of a drinker so that really wouldn't eat much of my income. I am considering getting a Scooter when I get over there, how does the insurance and tag work? Are there any hidden taxes or fees that I should be aware of? I don't mind being poor I just hate, with a prejudice, being flat broke. I mean as long as I can keep the money I have saved up and not have to dip into it every month and I am able to save a little while not eating card board and living under a bridge I know I can handle that.

On the topic of taxes, how do they work over there? are they deducted automatically? how do you file a return?