University Language Center Shafted me, not the fun shafted, the bad shafted

Language Exchange ads posted in the Learning Chinese forum will be removed

Moderator: ironlady

University Language Center Shafted me, not the fun shafted, the bad shafted

Postby MidgetWarden » 11 Apr 2012, 17:47

Hi its long but I need some helpful people please

I am new to the island and thought I would use the opportunity to learn some Chinese. Not to go on and do a course but just for myself to help me get around on a day to day basis.

I enrolled in a university a language school. On enquiring about the course I was told that it would be all be thought in pinyin as well as Chinese characters but you could get by on the pinyin, and that you could pick and choose your class times. Sounded great so I enrolled paying my money for a 15 hour a week course over 12 weeks. On turning up on the first day they tell me I only have afternoon classes and no morning classes and if I want morning classes to come back in June they may have morning classes then but they cant so. Frustrated I just agreed to the afternoon classes and started what I thought would be an enjoyable experience.

It was not, The class consisted of Koreans, Japanese , and 2 other westerners who were all very nice people. So the first few days went OK with the pinyin been put on the board and English translation words etc. Then came week 2, and it all pretty much turned into Chinese characters only which I certainly could not read or understand by that stage so started to get lost. I asked can we use the pinyin also the response was a sharp "No I don't like pinyin" from the teacher.