Sanctuary being torn down. We need your help!!! - click here for details
You can also visit TheSanctuaryTaiwan.org - click here to go to their contact page

Learning Japanese in Taiwan

Language Exchange ads posted in the Learning Chinese forum will be removed

Moderator: ironlady

Learning Japanese in Taiwan

Postby Katakaio » 05 May 2012, 17:04

Hello Forumosans!

I would like to ask if anyone has any recommendations regarding studying Japanese while in Taiwan- particular schools, tutors, books, proficiency tests, anything.

1. I live in Taipei (Xinzhuang/New Taipei City, specifically).
2. I studied Chinese for about 3 years in the US and went to China for a month... my spoken Chinese isn't bad, considering how my vocabulary has atrophied, but a year of non-use after college really diminished my abilities quite a bit.
3. I'm working as a buxiban laoshi with HESS, and making decent money at it. I work evenings from around 4pm to 9pm on average. I've been in Taiwan for a total of about 3 months now. I don't plan to be here any longer than 2 years.
4. I studied Japanese in the US for about a year, getting through 105 and 106 classes, which are roughly 2/3 of the Genki I book that most American colleges use. So it's not totally alien to me, although admittedly I'm super rusty.

I also have a general question regarding college credits vs proficiency test scores. I don't know what Japanese proficiency tests are out there, but what do you think would look more impressive, a solid test score or the credits of college classes? In other words... to appeal to employers, do I really need to spend money on the college courses or can I learn other ways and still not miss out on job opportunities? Right now, my plan is to continue teaching English as I island hop from here to Japan.

Thanks for reading!

D
Katakaio
Càiniǎo
Càiniǎo

ORIGINAL POSTER
1 Recommends(s)

Re: Learning Japanese in Taiwan

Postby Katakaio » 05 May 2012, 17:05