Sanctuary being torn down. We need your help!!! - click here for details
You can also visit TheSanctuaryTaiwan.org - click here to go to their contact page

How good were you after four months of studying Chinese?

Language Exchange ads posted in the Learning Chinese forum will be removed

Moderator: ironlady

How good were you after four months of studying Chinese?

Postby spyfire27 » 16 May 2012, 23:23

I have been studying Mandarin for 4 months now here in Taiwan in a regular full-time course. It's 3 hours a day for 15 hours a week. I was a total beginner when I came here.

I am posting because I am a bit worried about my progress. If I compare myself to the other students of my class, I think my level is equivalent to most of them (well, I could be wrong here). However, quite honestly, I think we all suck terribly. When I try to speak with native speakers and more advanced students and they say "Wow, you've been here four months", I tend to think that they consider my speaking ability to be quite low for someone who has spent four months in Taiwan.

In real life situations, I still have a lot of problems understanding and asking for things, and I barely understand anything if a store clerk asks me something. For example, I went to a vegetarian buffet yesterday and the lady asked me if I wanted rice, and I could not understand when she did it in Chinese. I was completely lost. Same thing at the immigration office. I went to renew my visitor visa and the agent started to talk to me in Chinese. I could not understand a single word she said.

I have to say though that I am quite satisfied with my reading and writing abilities. I easily read menus and other indications on the street. I also can use PowerPoint in Chinese, and can read to a fair level. Should the people in the situations I described above have put into writing the same thing they said, I would probably have understood them at 80% or more.