China tracking software

Moderators: Nam, Mick

China tracking software

Postby PapaAzucar » 07 Feb 2012, 00:59

Hello all, I heard that China started (in July 2011) tracking everyone of its citizens and foreigners in the country with the largest database system ever. I've been trying to find details about this system, but have not found any English articles on this. If anything, this is probably as big of a technology feat as Facebook or Google, and is considered the real-life Big Brother software. So anytime you buy a bus, train, plane or travel ticket where they ask for an ID in China, that info is entered into the database so that the Chinese government knows where everyone in the country is at any given time. I am not interested in the politics of this, but I am more interested in how the Chinese system is implemented like cloud computing, big data, data mining, data warehousing, scalability, etc.

If anyone has first-hand encounter with this system or know of articles on this, please share. Thanks in advance.
PapaAzucar
Shoe-wielding Legislator (huīwǔ xiézi de lìfǎ wěiyuán)
Shoe-wielding Legislator (huīwǔ xiézi de lìfǎ wěiyuán)
 
Posts: 256
ORIGINAL POSTER
Joined: 12 Dec 2011, 08:54
1 Recognized(s)

6000

Re: China tracking software

Postby CraigTPE » 07 Feb 2012, 05:24

From a broader perspective, one has to wonder who ISN'T tracking people these days...

With the imminent Facebook IPO, there has been a flurry of articles about data mining, not just for targeting advertising but also making hiring decisions and more. Really sobering thought.

Folks, if you are online, you are being tracked.
Forumosan avatar
CraigTPE
Lost Winning Lotto Ticket (zhòngjiǎng cǎiquàn nòngdiū le)
Lost Winning Lotto Ticket (zhòngjiǎng cǎiquàn nòngdiū le)
 
Posts: 2938
Joined: 15 Jan 2008, 17:12
91 Recommends(s)
34 Recognized(s)

6000





Return to Technology



Who is online

Forumosans browsing this forum: No Forumosans and 5 visitors

When you get an e-mail message from eBay or your bank, claiming that you have an account problem or a question from a buyer, it's probably a "phishing scam" intended to trick you into typing your password. Don't click the link in the message. If in doubt, go into your browser and type "www.ebay.com" (or whatever) manually.
More tips from David Pogue