MOD

Moderator: Mick

Re: MOD

Postby tcarnagan » 01 Sep 2011, 16:10

RJF -- thanks for the update and which button to push to do the upgrade. I agree with you that it seems crisper, and the sound problem I had on FOX is now gone (use to 'pop' during shows, very annoying). :thumbsup:
The more people I meet the more I love my dog.
Forumosan avatar
tcarnagan
Breakfast Store Laoban (zǎocān diàn lǎobǎn)
Breakfast Store Laoban (zǎocān diàn lǎobǎn)
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 19:58
Location: Banciao, Taiwan
4 Recognized(s)

6000

Re: MOD

Postby RJF » 01 Sep 2011, 17:47

madracer wrote:Quick Q, i scanned through the channel list on MOD (translated from chinese to english using google translate)
Did not see Starsports . . .Is this channel not available on MOD?

Unfortunately, no Star Sports. ELTA sports, instead -- which is ok with me as (unlike Star Sports), they show the Champion's League matches. They also showed the world cup last year, so I'm hoping they will show the European cup next year.
RJF
Chair-throwing Legislator (rēng yǐzi de lìfǎ wěiyuán)
Chair-throwing Legislator (rēng yǐzi de lìfǎ wěiyuán)
 
Posts: 302
Joined: 08 Apr 2004, 19:44
Location: 天母 -- Tian Mu
1 Recognized(s)

6000

Re: MOD

Postby Charlie Phillips » 01 Sep 2011, 19:27

RJF wrote:Turned MOD on this morning -- there was a notice in Chinese that there was an automatic firmware upgrade pending. To do the upgrade, you need to press the button at the far right (just to the left of the power button) of the MOD box -- then wait for it to do its thing and restart itself.

Don't know if it was purely subjective, but the HD channels seemed even crisper and clearer after the upgrade.


My remote must be different to yours. Do you have any information about the button, such as colour or symbol? How about if I just turn off the machine and reboot it?
"Why do you want gas? It's hot. You can have cold showers" ~gas delivery man height of summer, 2010.

"Why you wear so many clothes? You are foreigner. Foreign countries are cold." buxiban owner, depth of winter 2011.
Forumosan avatar
Charlie Phillips
Immune to Breathalizers (jiǔ cèce bù chūlái)
Immune to Breathalizers (jiǔ cèce bù chūlái)
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: 21 Nov 2005, 14:53
Location: Woods by name but now a city
80 Recommends(s)
158 Recognized(s)

6000

Re: MOD

Postby RJF » 01 Sep 2011, 20:36

Charlie Phillips wrote:
RJF wrote:Turned MOD on this morning -- there was a notice in Chinese that there was an automatic firmware upgrade pending. To do the upgrade, you need to press the button at the far right (just to the left of the power button) of the MOD box -- then wait for it to do its thing and restart itself.

Don't know if it was purely subjective, but the HD channels seemed even crisper and clearer after the upgrade.


My remote must be different to yours. Do you have any information about the button, such as colour or symbol? How about if I just turn off the machine and reboot it?

It's not a button on the remote -- it's the button on the black MOD hardware box that the DSL cable plugs into. It's the button just to left of the power button.
RJF
Chair-throwing Legislator (rēng yǐzi de lìfǎ wěiyuán)
Chair-throwing Legislator (rēng yǐzi de lìfǎ wěiyuán)
 
Posts: 302
Joined: 08 Apr 2004, 19:44
Location: 天母 -- Tian Mu
1 Recognized(s)

6000

Re: MOD

Postby Charlie Phillips » 01 Sep 2011, 20:39

RJF wrote:
Charlie Phillips wrote:
RJF wrote:Turned MOD on this morning -- there was a notice in Chinese that there was an automatic firmware upgrade pending. To do the upgrade, you need to press the button at the far right (just to the left of the power button) of the MOD box -- then wait for it to do its thing and restart itself.

Don't know if it was purely subjective, but the HD channels seemed even crisper and clearer after the upgrade.


My remote must be different to yours. Do you have any information about the button, such as colour or symbol? How about if I just turn off the machine and reboot it?

It's not a button on the remote -- it's the button on the black MOD hardware box that the DSL cable plugs into. It's the button just to left of the power button.


Thanks. My stupid :doh:
"Why do you want gas? It's hot. You can have cold showers" ~gas delivery man height of summer, 2010.

"Why you wear so many clothes? You are foreigner. Foreign countries are cold." buxiban owner, depth of winter 2011.
Forumosan avatar
Charlie Phillips
Immune to Breathalizers (jiǔ cèce bù chūlái)
Immune to Breathalizers (jiǔ cèce bù chūlái)
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: 21 Nov 2005, 14:53
Location: Woods by name but now a city
80 Recommends(s)
158 Recognized(s)

6000

Re: MOD

Postby tcarnagan » 10 Sep 2011, 20:08

BIT OF INFORMATION: :2cents:

As of now I am only aware of channel 69 (fox family movies) having dual language option.

By pressing the button on the bottom right of the remote control you can toggle between English and Chinese.

Got a real kick out of watching Ferris Bueller the other night in Chinese, but is nice to know the option is there for English.
The more people I meet the more I love my dog.
Forumosan avatar
tcarnagan
Breakfast Store Laoban (zǎocān diàn lǎobǎn)
Breakfast Store Laoban (zǎocān diàn lǎobǎn)
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 19:58
Location: Banciao, Taiwan
4 Recognized(s)

6000

Re: MOD

Postby Belgian Pie » 10 Sep 2011, 20:19

There are several channels with that option ...
Belgian Pie
Maitreya Buddha (Mílèfó)
 
Posts: 10677
Joined: 31 Oct 2004, 19:39
Location: High ground
1 Recommends(s)
62 Recognized(s)

6000

Re: MOD

Postby tcarnagan » 10 Sep 2011, 20:51

Mr Pie, know of any of those channels off hand that have that option?
The more people I meet the more I love my dog.
Forumosan avatar
tcarnagan
Breakfast Store Laoban (zǎocān diàn lǎobǎn)
Breakfast Store Laoban (zǎocān diàn lǎobǎn)
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 19:58
Location: Banciao, Taiwan
4 Recognized(s)

6000

Re: MOD

Postby Belgian Pie » 10 Sep 2011, 21:04

178, 130 I can think of ... and some channels that show English spoken movies dubbed in Chinese ...
Belgian Pie
Maitreya Buddha (Mílèfó)
 
Posts: 10677
Joined: 31 Oct 2004, 19:39
Location: High ground
1 Recommends(s)
62 Recognized(s)

6000

Re: MOD

Postby mups » 11 Sep 2011, 08:06

ESPN has it as well.

I really wish broadcasters would be forced to normalize volume here...I can't stand how the commercials are louder than the broadcasts, especially when I'm in bed at night and my GF is sleeping..you turn it up just loud enough to hear the dialogue then the commercial comes in blasting. I believe there was a law recently passed in the US that banned this incredibly annoying practice.

http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-503544_162- ... 03544.html
mups
Newspaper Copyeditor (bàoshè biānjí)
Newspaper Copyeditor (bàoshè biānjí)
 
Posts: 403
Joined: 21 Nov 2006, 17:16
13 Recognized(s)

6000

PreviousNext




Return to Technology



Who is online

Forumosans browsing this forum: No Forumosans and 4 visitors

Time is painted with a lock before, and bald behind, signifying thereby that we must take time by the forelock; for, when it is once past, there is no recalling it -- JONATHAN SWIFT