MOD

Moderator: Mick

Re: MOD

Postby Belgian Pie » 29 Mar 2012, 15:02

In Europe we would actually organize according to channel name (BBC1, BBC2, ... France 1, France 2 ...) ... here they do according to the content ... idiots.
Belgian Pie
Maitreya Buddha (Mílèfó)
 
Posts: 11099
Joined: 31 Oct 2004, 19:39
Location: High ground
2 Recommends(s)
80 Recognized(s)



Re: MOD

Postby StuartCa » 29 Mar 2012, 15:05

exactly. Well at least it's consistent idiocy.
If you reject the food, ignore the customs, fear the religion and avoid the people, you might better stay home. ~James Michener
Forumosan avatar
StuartCa
Bird Walker (liù niǎo de rén)
 
Posts: 1420
Joined: 14 Jun 2005, 22:10
Location: here, there and everywhere
15 Recommends(s)
16 Recognized(s)



Re: MOD

Postby Hobbes » 29 Apr 2012, 08:12

Can anyone help me read what this says?

Image

This is all my MOD box seems to do anymore.

My first guess was that I had accidentally pushed the button that someone earlier in the thread mentioned would upgrade the unit's firmware, and that this message said something like "Please wait while we update your MOD box system software".

But it seemed to be taking too long. That red "progress bar" would take a few minutes to fill up, and then when it did, it would start over. I let the process go on for about an hour last night, and then decided to turn the box off, unplug the power cord, plug it back in, double-check the internet connection to the back of the box, and restart.

The exact same thing happened after restarting. And no matter what buttons I push on the remote or the MOD box, this screen is all I get. After restarting the box last night I let it run while I slept (about 8 hours) and it's still doing this as of this morning. At this point I'm back to thinking that the box is just broken and I should call to see about getting a new one, but I thought I'd first check to see if anyone else had this problem and found a solution (or at least if someone might be able to tell me what this message says).

Anyone know?
Forumosan avatar
Hobbes
Mahjong Maniac (májiàng mí)
Mahjong Maniac (májiàng mí)
 
Posts: 2195
Joined: 29 Mar 2004, 17:03
Location: Taipei
4 Recognized(s)



Re: MOD

Postby mups » 29 Apr 2012, 12:18

The MOD hardware (or the software in it?) is really a piece of crap. You get that ridiculously long loading stuff when you switch it on and off at the back...quite often I also get sound errors where the audio has a warped, slowed down effect..if I reset from the back I wait through the loading, then it will still be the same, or have no audio at all. I'll turn it off and try the next day and it'll be fine but happens too often. Then you get the random yes/no screen in chinese when you load up at times..have no idea what those are. I'm pretty sure there are a couple mice inside the box running things.
mups
Newspaper Copyeditor (bàoshè biānjí)
Newspaper Copyeditor (bàoshè biānjí)
 
Posts: 419
Joined: 21 Nov 2006, 17:16
15 Recognized(s)



Re: MOD

Postby RJF » 29 Apr 2012, 14:10

Hobbes wrote:Can anyone help me read what this says?...

Basically, it's a message telling you that the box is resetting itself, and a progress indicator. For the problems you are having, just call the number on the box's sticker and they will send someone out to fix or replace the box.
RJF
Chair-throwing Legislator (rēng yǐzi de lìfǎ wěiyuán)
Chair-throwing Legislator (rēng yǐzi de lìfǎ wěiyuán)
 
Posts: 308
Joined: 08 Apr 2004, 19:44
Location: 天母 -- Tian Mu
1 Recognized(s)



Re: MOD

Postby Hobbes » 29 Apr 2012, 15:44

Yeah, that's about what I figured. Thanks.
Forumosan avatar
Hobbes
Mahjong Maniac (májiàng mí)
Mahjong Maniac (májiàng mí)
 
Posts: 2195
Joined: 29 Mar 2004, 17:03
Location: Taipei
4 Recognized(s)



Re: MOD

Postby Belgian Pie » 27 May 2012, 15:51

New channels ... France24 E (228) and F(229) ... Luxe TV(226) but they are optional, not free, although France24 E seems free of charge.
Belgian Pie
Maitreya Buddha (Mílèfó)
 
Posts: 11099
Joined: 31 Oct 2004, 19:39
Location: High ground
2 Recommends(s)
80 Recognized(s)



Re: MOD

Postby RJF » 27 May 2012, 15:57

Belgian Pie wrote:New channels ... France24 E (228) and F(229) ... Luxe TV(227) but they are optional, not free, although France24 E seems free of charge.

Any idea of the content? Like one of them showing the Tour de France?
RJF
Chair-throwing Legislator (rēng yǐzi de lìfǎ wěiyuán)
Chair-throwing Legislator (rēng yǐzi de lìfǎ wěiyuán)
 
Posts: 308
Joined: 08 Apr 2004, 19:44
Location: 天母 -- Tian Mu
1 Recognized(s)



Re: MOD

Postby Belgian Pie » 27 May 2012, 16:05

RJF wrote:
Belgian Pie wrote:New channels ... France24 E (228) and F(229) ... Luxe TV(227) but they are optional, not free, although France24 E seems free of charge.

Any idea of the content? Like one of them showing the Tour de France?


France 24 is a 24h news channel in F(rench) and E(nglish) ... Luxe TV is a lifestyle/travel
channel?
Belgian Pie
Maitreya Buddha (Mílèfó)
 
Posts: 11099
Joined: 31 Oct 2004, 19:39
Location: High ground
2 Recommends(s)
80 Recognized(s)



Re: MOD

Postby k.k. » 22 Jun 2012, 16:57

Wow, Chung-Hwa is really trying to push their MOD on me. They call my home phone, my cell phone, send me stuff in the mail, over and over. I've told them I have a high-end cable package from my cable provider and that getting MOD would really only duplicate what channels are already out there. Still, they try.
.
Forumosan avatar
k.k.
"Drinks for the House!"
 
Posts: 4021
Joined: 14 Jun 2005, 06:51
Location: Taipei (from Manitoba)
30 Recommends(s)
21 Recognized(s)



FRIENDLY REMINDER
   Please remember that Forumosa is not responsible for the content that appears on the other side of links that Forumosans post on our forums. As a discussion website, we encourage open and frank debate. We have learned that the most effective way to address questionable claims or accusations on Forumosa is by engaging in a sincere and constructive conversation. To make this website work, we must all feel safe in expressing our opinions, this also means backing up any claims with hard facts, including links to other websites.
   Please also remember that one should not believe everything one reads on the Internet, particularly from websites whose content cannot be easily verified or substantiated. Use your common sense and do not hesitate to ask for proof.
PreviousNext




Proceed to Technology



Who is online

Forumosans browsing this forum: No Forumosans and 3 visitors

You can open the Start menu by tapping the key with the Windows logo on it.
More tips from David Pogue