Moving to Taiwan and other questions

Moderators: Tempo Gain, TheGingerMan

Moving to Taiwan and other questions

Postby bluenitsuj » 29 Apr 2012, 06:12

Hi all, newbie here

I am English, currently living in the Uk and this year am marrying my my Taiwanese partner of 10 years this summer. I have just been told that I am being made redundant next April 2013 so we have decided that this could be the chance of moving to Taiwan to live. ( We were going to do this when our daughter reached 18, she is 10 now ). My partner has family all over taiwan ( and china ) and also has use of a flat in Taipei whoch is owned by the family.
I have many questions so sorry if they are elsewhere.
1. I am worried about finding work but my partner says I should have no problem. ( I speak only very basic Mandarin and I will be 40 when we arrive. I have no degree and have been a Warehouse Manager of over 50+ staff for over 10 years ). What choices do I have. we would love to set up our own business but do not know what.

2. I do not particularly want to teach English, but am prepared to take a TESOL or CELTA. I have heard that as a spouse of a Taiwanese that I do not require a degree but I am not sure if this is true.

3. Schools. I know the european schools are very pricey, what other options do we have. My daughter speaks hardly any Mandarin but I am arranging private lessons to get her up to speed.

4.How soon should I start applying for my aprc?

What other jobs relistically can I expect to have a chance with, taking into account my lack of speaking Mandarin.

I thank you all for your help and hopefully put my mind at rest.
bluenitsuj
Ink Still Wet in Passport (shífēn xīnshǒu)

ORIGINAL POSTER

Re: Moving to Taiwan and other questions

Postby akikaki1 » 29 Apr 2012, 06:17

I don't know to much about work but you say you don't have a degree whatever job you get you would be making 3x more with engrish. Looks like most expats live good with teaching engrish.
akikaki1