Paypal / Taiwan Bank Account question

A resource forum for those interested in buying, selling, or developing a business; for questions about retirement plans; investing and basically any aspect of acquiring, keeping and increasing one's personal stash of filthy lucre.

Moderator: Charlie Phillips

Paypal / Taiwan Bank Account question

Postby amishrock » 07 Jun 2004, 16:53

Hi there,

So this is my first time posting on this forum...I hope it goes well as the Forum has been very very good to me so far.

Well I am sitting in Los Angeles right now planning on heading to Taiwan (the homeland of my parents) to teach english this coming semester, and am consequently working out the logistics of this plan. A big issue for me is how I will continue making monthly payments on my US debts (car loan payments, student loans, etc etc) while in Taiwan with the money I will be making teaching english. So far after sifting through many posts here the answer seems to be that I should open up a Taiwanese Bank Account once I get to Taiwan and wire transfer money I make and save from teaching english over to my US (Bank of America) bank account, from where I will then make the assorted payments out of.

Given what I have read here about the wire fees, exchange rates and all that mess my post then is a question about the functionality of Paypal as a different option in transferring money between my Taiwan and US bank account. Basically does anyone know if the following is possible and advisable: Set up a completely new paypal account linked to my Taiwanese bank account from where I would send payments to my already established paypal account that's linked to my US bank account.

I thank everyone in advance for any advice they can give me in response to this question...and I hope I will be able to contribute into future discussions on this board, once I get to Taiwan of course.
amishrock
Ink Still Wet in Passport (shífēn xīnshǒu)

ORIGINAL POSTER

Postby aceman » 07 Jun 2004, 18:05